Stitch Fix – March 2014

As a birthday gift to myself, I decided to try out Stitch Fix!

What is Stitch Fix?

My first "fix"!

My first “fix”!

Stitch Fix is a monthly subscription box service that sends clothing and accessories right to your door. These items are hand picked just for you by a stylist. When you sign up, you create a style profile.  This is what the stylists use to determine what your style is and what kind of items you may like.   Once the items are shipped to you, you try them on in the comfort of your own home. You have three days to decide what you’re keeping and what you’re not.  You can send back what you don’t want in the prepaid mail bag that also comes in your “fix” (aka your box).  Then drop the mail bag off at a blue mail box or post office. Easy-peasy!

Once you’ve determined what you’re keeping and what you’re not, you go to the Stich Fix website and complete a survey on all of the items you received.  It’s best to provide as detailed information as possible.  This way the stylist can get more information on what you like and what you don’t.  Like a good wine, these “fixes” should get better with time!

What does it cost?

Invoice

March 2014 Invoice

There is a $20.00 styling fee in order for you to receive a “fix”.  If you keep at least one item, that $20.00 goes towards the cost of what you purchase.  If you do not keep anything, then you lose out on the $20.00 styling fee. Items on average cost about $65.00. If you decide to keep all five items in your “fix” then you receive a 25% discount off the entire purchase price.

You can sign up to get a “fix” monthly or you can decide to schedule a “fix” as frequently or infrequently as you would like.  I am currently doing the “order when I feel like it” method.  I did tell my husband that if I end up going back to work full time, I WILL be switching to monthly!

Stitch Fix – March 2014

Ok, now that we’ve got the business part out of the way, let’s see the clothes! Obviously I no longer have the items I received but I do have the styling cards to share.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

41 Hawthorn – Underwood Fair Isle Knit Infinity Scarf, $28

This item was really cute and the cheapest item in my “fix”.  It was grey and aqua and the material was like a sweater-knit.  I’m a sucker for scarves but this was really wintry looking and thick.  Too warm for spring.  I determined that this scarf would probably sit in my closet for nine months and who wants to wait that long to wear something new?  Not this mama…

Verdict: Sent back

Dear John – Corey Denim Trouser, $88

Since giving birth to my son 18 months ago, I haven’t quite got back to my regular pants size. Everything else is back to normal but pants are another story.  I just about lost all hope when I saw these jeans but of course, you need to try them on.  They FIT! The hips and thighs were perfect (and that’s where I’ve been having problems). They were the most comfortable jeans I’ve ever worn.

The only problem with them was that they were too long.  I’d have to wear a good three inch heel with them and lets be honest…who has time for that when you’re chasing a toddler around?  Of course, it dawned on me that I could have got them altered… But too little, too late…

Verdict: Sent back

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Collective Concepts – Daniella Lace Detail Cinch Waist Blouse, $78

When I first saw this blouse, I really liked it.  When I put it on, I hated it.  It was a size small, which I said I was in my style profile, but this looked like a potato sack on me. Cinched waist and all, it was so unflattering.  I did like the royal blue color and the lace detail on the shoulders but that was about it.  I saw this top on another woman on Instagram and she looked cute in it.  At least someone could make it work!

Verdict: Sent back

TCEC – Roxanna Chevron Open Knit Cardigan, $58

This cardigan was right up my alley.  The only problem was, I went shopping a few weeks before (for my birthday) and found a chevron open knit cardigan at Franchesca’s Collections. Obviously this item would have been something I would have picked out for myself, but I didn’t want duplicates in my wardrobe so….

Verdict: Sent back

192Fate – Annabella Pointelle Knit Layered Top, $58

Hello!  This top had the wow-factor when I opened my box.  It was the item that stood out the most and was the one item I was hoping would be a perfect fit.  The pointelle pattern is like nothing I own and it also has a gold half-zipper in the back.  It has that little bit of sass that I like without looking like I’m trying too hard to be edgy.  I love this top! Way to go, Noemi!

Verdict: KEPT

Overall, I was very happy with my first “fix”.  I felt like my stylist did a great job picking out these five items for me.  I couldn’t wait to schedule my next “fix” so I ordered it right away.  I am totally bummed that I have to wait until May 7th to get it. Hurry up and get here, May!

Want your own Stitch Fix?  Sign up here!

xoxo,

Katie

*I was not paid to write this post.  I paid for this “fix” with my own money and am sharing my own experiences.