Charlie’s Lunchbox

My (almost) two year-old is in a preschool program and that meant I needed to start packing him a lunch. I have been sharing a few photos of Charlie’s lunches on Instagram and have been getting asked for my ideas. To get inspiration for these lunches, I took to Pinterest.  From there, I created a list of foods based on category to make sure Charlie gets a variety of food groups in each lunch.

Here is a list I started:

Sandwich Ideas:

  • Turkey/Ham & Cheese Sandwich
  • Turkey/Ham & Cheese Pinwheels
  • PB & J Sandwich
  • PB & J Roll-Ups
  • Mini Bagels with Cream Cheese
  • Pigs in a Blanket

To make sandwiches toddler sized and/or more fun to eat, I’ve used mini cookie cutters.  Not only are the sandwiches in fun shapes but they are smaller to fit in little toddler hands!

Proteins:

  • Deli Meat
  • Leftover Chicken (from dinner the night before)
  • Cooked Hot Dog
  • Chicken Nuggets
  • Turkey Burger
  • Hard Boiled Egg
  • Beans
  • Cubed Cheese
  • String Cheese

Carbs:

  • Crackers/Goldfish
  • Cereal
  • Pretzels
  • Pasta
  • Macaroni & Cheese

Fruits:

  • Apples
  • Grapes
  • Berries
  • Melon
  • Applesauce
  • Raisins
  • Craisins

Veggies:

  • Frozen Peas (thawed)
  • Shredded Carrots
  • Peppers
  • Cucumber
  • Celery
  • Steamed Broccoli

Dessert:

  • Teddy Grahams
  • Graham Crackers
  • Cookies

The containers I use for Charlie’s lunch all came together and I absolutely love it. It is the Rubbermaid Lunch Blox Kids (kids lunch kit). The kit includes:

  • One sandwich and snack container (w/ dividers)
  • One side container
  • One snack container
  • One Blue Ice (ice pack that the containers snap onto)

Additional items I use for Charlie’s lunches are mini silicon baking cups and as I mentioned above, cookie cutters/mini cookie cutters.

All it takes is some planning and you too, can make cute lunches for your little ones!

xoxo,

Katie