Birchbox – August 2014

June took a vacation…I’ve been working, took a trip back to Wisconsin, had family out here and then had oral surgery. I am back and have a Birchbox to share! This month we were able to choose a sample in our August box. Let’s see what I chose and what else I received for August!

Birchbox – August 2014: Lighten Up

 

 

amika – Perk Up Dry Shampoo, Full-size $21

191What: Weightless spray in the brand’s signature Obliphica scent that refreshes hair sans residue.

How: Shake can and hold 8-10 inches from head. Spritz roots, then massage through strands.

 

Dr. Jart+ – Dis-a-Pore Beauty Balm, Full-size $36

192What: The Korean skincare brand’s SPF 30 face protector conceals enlarged pores and controls oil.

How: Using your fingers, blend into skin on face and neck.

 

ModelCo – Shimmer Bronzer, Full-size $22 (sample I chose to receive)

195What: This lightweight pressed powder gives skin a natural-looking glow with a hint of shimmer.

How: Using a blush brush, lightly dust onto hollows of cheeks, across forehead, and over chest.

 

 

Supergoop!® – Forever Young Hand Cream with Broad Spectrum Sunscreen SPF 40, Full-size $11-$29.50

193What: This berrylicious hydrator plumps skin and shields against UVA and UVB rays.

How: Smooth onto hands daily to protect against the signs of premature aging.

 

Beauty Extra

nügg Beauty – Soothing Mask, Pack of 5, $14.99

196What: This 94% natural treatment relieves dryness, redness, and irritation in 10 minutes flat.

How: Apply to clean, dry face, avoiding eyes and mouth. Leave 5-10 minutes before rinsing.

 

What am I thinking…

Although I don’t think my hair is suited for second day hair, I’m still happy to try out another dry shampoo! I’m excited to see if this particular dry shampoo adds volume since I have pretty flat hair. I don’t have large pores nor do I have oily skin but we’ll see what Dr. Jart can do. I doubt it will do much because this sample is teeny-tiny!  I picked the bronzer powder and I’m still happy I did.  The powder looks dark but I rubbed some on my wrist to see a swatch and it seems to be pretty transparent, so that’s good! Another Supergoop!..and this is also the tiniest sample.  I do like the smell but holy smokes, this is so small… I am pretty excited to try the face mask so some night I’ll pamper myself with that!  Overall, I’m happy with receiving another dry shampoo, the bronzer and the mask. I think this was a decent box.

Want your own Birchbox? Sign up here!

xoxo,

Katie

*Product descriptions are courtesy of Birchbox.

** This is not a sponsored post. I purchased this subscription and all opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Birchbox – August 2014

  1. Ditto SuperGoop. If I never receive another SuperGoop I’d be happy.
    I’m curiously how you liked the mask. I got a mask from the same brand in my box this month and I loved the way it felt but didn’t notice much difference in my skin. Also, I see you go the bronzer. I am LOVING this bronzer. It scared me at first too, but with a light touch it gives a nice glow. My husband even commented on how pretty it looked. Win!

Leave a Reply

