Easter Egg Coloring!

Today I took a stab at coloring Easter eggs with Charlie.  It was a beautiful day so we took our decorating party outside.

I lined a rimmed baking sheet with a paper towel. This made it easy to carry everything outside and also helped minimize the mess. But let’s be honest….I ended up doing most of the decorating!

Boiling the eggs

I start by placing my eggs in a pot and cover the eggs with cold water.  I bring them to a boil and let them boil for 10 minutes or so.  I then drain the hot water, place the eggs in a bowl and into the fridge they go!  Once the eggs are cooled, let the decorating begin!

We used a Paas Deluxe Decorating Kit.  I didn’t need a deluxe kit but that was all I saw when I was at the store.

Indside the kit

  • Color-dye tablets
  • Two egg dippers
  • Stickers
  • Glitter
  • Magic Crayon
  • Eggarounds
  • Egg stands
  • Drying tray (back of box)

What we used out of the kit

  • Color-dye tablets (green, blue and orange)
  • Magic Crayon (on one egg, just to try it)
  • Drying tray

We kept our decorating pretty simple since Charlie is only one and a half!

Decorating the eggs

According to the Paas package directions:

  • Put one tablet into a cup/bowl
  • Add 1 Tbsp of vinegar
  • Add 1/2 cup of room temperature water
  • Bend egg dipper and dip egg into dye (I always just use a spoon…)
  • More time in the dye = a darker color
  • Remove and place in drying tray

Instructions on how to use all the fancy-shmancy decorative tools are also explained on the back of the Paas Decorating Kit Box or you can visit their website here.

How did we do?

xoxo,

Katie

Leave a Reply

