Birchbox – Welcome Box

Birchbox…the start of my subscription box addiction.  My friend, Melissa, got me a six month Birchbox subscription for my 30th birthday (this past March).  What better way to enter a new decade of my life with some beauty products!

What is Birchbox, you ask?

As I said, it’s a monthly subscription box that contains health and beauty products. For $10/month you get a box mailed to you which contains 4-5 beauty samples. If you like a particular sample that you received in your box, you can go to Birchbox.com and purchase the full size product (you are not required to do so).  Now for the fun part…what did I get in my first welcome box?  Let’s find out!

Birchbox – Welcome Box

Dr. Brandt – Exclusive Camera-Ready Kit, $42

What: This pore refiner from Dr. Brandt can be applied on an as-needed basis. A favorite of photo-ready celebs, the sheer formula instantly absorbs oil while minimizing the appearance of enlarged pores. The result is a smooth, shine-free finish.

How: Work a thin layer into your face after completing your morning regimen. Pay special attention to cheeks and the tip of your nose.

Verdict:  Liked the way it made my face feel.  Not sure if it’s refining my pores or if my pores are already totally refined…. 🙂

Joan Vass – L’eau de Cristal, Full-size $75

What: Citrusy top notes of bergamot and mandarin blend with middle notes of black currant, rose oil, and raspberry puree. Fresh musk, vanilla bean, and patchouli oil round out the cast of this grownup scent.

How: Spritz wrists, neck, and backs of knees for a sultry fragrance that lasts all day.

Verdict: Scent is ok…not what I would pick for myself but appreciate the travel spritz-size for carry-on luggage when flying (or any traveling, I guess)!

Miracle Skin Transformer – Face Spotlight, Full-size $48

What: New launch from the innovative line that will nourish and hydrate while fending off the signs of premature aging. For the sun-conscious, the broad spectrum SPF 20 protection is a major plus.

How: Smooth a dime-sized amount over clean skin at least 15 minutes before sun exposure. Reapply every two hours while in the sun. Pro tip: Mix a small amount into your foundation to give it a pretty hint of shimmer.

Verdict: Similar consistency/feel to the Dr. Brandt product above BUT this has SPF in it and a little bit of shimmer.  I’m a fan of this but not for $48….. whah, whah, whah….

Whish – Three Whishes Body Butter (Pomegranate), Full-size $24

What: Luscious, antioxidant-rich formula that firms, softens, and soothes.

How: Smooth onto skin after showering.  A little goes a long way!

Verdict:  I am in L-O-V-E!!  Must buy!!

Lifestyle Extra

Ahmad Tea London – Assorted Teas, Full Size $7

What: Beat the winter chill with tasty blends from Buckingham Palace-approved British brand.

How: Steep 3-5 minutes in near-boiling water.

Verdict:  Ummm…it’s tea.  Nice thought but I’m a coffee drinker, black.

What am I thinking….

My favorite product in this box was the Whish, Three Whishes Body Butter.  O-M-G….it’s amazing!!  I’m totally obsessed with this lotion and will for sure be purchasing the full size. I’ve never had a lotion make my hands feel so soft and smell so good! I think that $24 is a bit pricey for body lotion but I do have a $10 credit so I think I’ll be able to justify paying $14.  I’m beyond excited about this lotion and the pomegranate scent is fabulous.

I did enjoy the other product samples however, the prices for the full-size products do not excite me at this time…..

Want your own Birchbox?  Sign up here!

Stay tuned for what was in my March 2014 Birchbox!

xoxo,

Katie

*Product descriptions/content are courtesy of Birchbox.

** I was not paid to write this post.  This subscription was gifted to me and I’m sharing my own experiences.

2 thoughts on “Birchbox – Welcome Box

  1. Do you think birchbox is worth getting for the price, or is it just more fun stuff? I’ve been debating! What other boxes do you do that you enjoy?

    • Hi Coley-

      My subscription was a birthday gift so I’m currently not paying for it. Birchbox is $10/month and you are usually getting sample sizes. I do think you get your $10 worth within the box. You can sign up for a three month subscription ($30) and try it out without making a big investment. If you are interested in trying it, there is a referral link in my post.

      I’ve been enjoying it so far and it’s fun to try new products. My April box arrived today so I’ll be posting about that pretty soon. When this subscription is over, I think I might try Ipsy. Same concept but a little different (and also $10/month).

      I have also done Stitch Fix, which is a clothing subscription box. Check out the fashion section on my blog for a review of my first fix!

      Hope this was helpful!

      xoxo,
      Katie

Leave a Reply

